Sanju Samson has been named to Team India’s T20 roster ahead of their forthcoming five-match T20I series against the West Indies. On Friday, July 29, the series is set to begin in Trinidad. 

KL Rahul has been replaced in the lineup by Sanju Samson. The star from Kerala was a member of the team for the just-finished ODI series against the West Indies but was not included in the T20I squad. 

Sanju Samson
Sanju Samson Photo Credit: (ICC)

KL Rahul Prevented By Covid-19 To Join Indian Squad

On the other side, Rahul was selected for the T20I team, although his availability was contingent on his level of fitness. Since the IPL concluded, the right-handed batter has been sidelined. 

After the IPL was finished, he travelled to Germany for groin surgery. After the surgery went well, he returned to the National Cricket Academy (NCA) in Bengaluru and began uploading images about his rehabilitation programme on social media. 

KL Rahul
KL Rahul. (Photo: Twitter)

While he did recuperate in time for the series, Covid-19 prevented him from travelling to the Caribbean. He had tested positive for Covid-19 earlier this month. Rahul did finish his time in isolation, but according to the BCCI’s medical staff, he should take another week off to relax and recover. 

Sanju Samson Included In T20I Squad

Sanju Samson was added to the team for the T20I series by the BCCI on Friday. Samson was included in the team roster for the opening T20I against the West Indies even though the BCCI has not yet made the selection official. 

Samson would be hoping to be given a chance to play and capitalise on it. He is no longer in the plans for the next T20 World Cup, as evidenced by the selectors’ decision to not put him on the T20I team.

Sanju Samson
Sanju Samson Photo Credit: (BCCI)

But if Samson takes advantage of his most recent opportunity, he still has a chance to turn things around. He recently played the West Indies during the ODI series and will be looking to play in the T20Is after scoring a fantastic fifty. 

India T20I squad: 

Rohit Sharma (Captain), Ishan Kishan, Sanju Samson, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, R Ashwin, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav*, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.

Also Read: IND vs WI: ‘One Thing? There Are Two’: West Indies Head Coach Says 2 India Youngsters Reason For 3-0 Result In ODIs



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here