India captain Rohit Sharma stated that adding Umesh Yadav was “not much of a discussion” because he is an experienced fast bowler.

Umesh Yadav has been named to India’s squad for the three-match Twenty20 International series against Australia, which begins on September 20 at Mohali.

Umesh Yadav
Umesh Yadav. Image Credits: BCCI

After Shami tested positive for Covid-19 on Sunday, September 18, the BCCI announced the development.

“Guys like Umesh, and Shami, who have been bowling for a long time. For consideration, they do not have to be playing a certain format,” Rohit said in a pre-match press conference.

Umesh Yadav
Umesh Yadav (Image Credit: Twitter)

“In each format, they have played, they have established themselves as players. We are aware of the quality, but whether or not the new guys have experience with this format will depend on them. However, men like Umesh and Shami will be summoned back if they are healthy and fit,” Rohit said in a pre-match press conference.

We are very much clear in our thought process: Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma added that the management has no concerns about Umesh’s performance because his skills were on display during the IPL. In 12 games while representing Kolkata Knight Riders in the 2022 season, Umesh grabbed 16 wickets, including a four-wicket haul.

Umesh Yadav
Umesh Yadav. Image: BCCI

“We don’t need to look at their form, we saw how Umesh bowled in the IPL. He bowled well, he swings the ball and bowls fast. That was the thought, pretty simple. It was not much of a discussion for us.

“Keeping in mind World Cup is around the corner, we have tried a lot of players. We are very much clear in our thought process and how we want to move forward,” Rohit Sharma said in a pre-match press conference.

India squad for T20Is against Australia: Rohit Sharma (captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Deepak Chahar, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav.

Also Read: Navdeep Saini Ruled Out Of India A Series Against New Zealand A


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here